## RESOLUTION NO. 2024 - 09 AMERICAN RIVER FLOOD CONTROL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## COMMENDATION OF TRUSTEE CYRIL SHAH

**WHEREAS**, Cyril Shah was elected to the Board of Trustees of the American River Flood Control District and he faithfully served three terms. His first term started in July 2012 and continued until November 2024; and

**WHEREAS,** Cyril contributed to Board discussions on a diverse array of topics providing unique insight and working to achieve consensus; and

**WHEREAS,** during his tenure on the Board, Cyril served as District President, District Vice-President, and District Treasurer and was a member of the Personnel and Benefits Committee and Finance Committee.

This required attending numerous meetings where he carefully considered the fair and equitable treatment of District employees and the apportionment of their benefits; and

**WHEREAS,** Cyril helped guide the Board through many challenges that included but were not limited to careful management of District reserve funds and responsible oversight of fiduciary responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, Cyril has the ability to concisely convey the desires of the Board with articulate eloquence:

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE AMERICAN RIVER FLOOD CONTROL DISTRICT

Cyril Shah is hereby honored and commended for his public service to the thousands of residents and businesses in the District as an elected member of the American River Flood Control District Board of Trustees. The entire Sacramento community owes him a debt of gratitude for his efforts to improve flood safety and improve the District's administration and budget through his thoughtful skills

## BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED

The Board extends its best wishes and encouragement in his future endeavors and hopes he remains active in District issues. The Board will miss his pleasant demeanor as well as his unselfish commitment of time to meet with staff and constituents to resolve issues and promote flood safety.

American River Flood Control District Board of Trustees
Steve Johns, President
Rae Vander Werf, Secretary
Brian Holloway, Trustee